Artist on the Spot: Mel of a Good Time!

Welcome to the Over Share Cabaret a monthly variety show hosted by Mel DeLancey, a girl next door with a wild side, a degree in musical theater and absolutely no filter.

Upcoming Shows: JULY Fri 7/29 @ 8pm; Sat 7/30 @ 8pm / SEPTEMBER Thurs 9/8 @ 8pm; Sat 9/10 @ 8pm. 

IMG_0295We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

I told my boyfriend last weekend that he was my muse because he wanted credit for a joke I wrote. I should probably stick with that if I want a nice dinner this weekend. I’m also inspired by life’s coincidences, the magic of being in a city full of people with different pasts and futures and how we all are made up of the same stuff inside. For me I feel the most connected to the universality of it all when I am singing.

Tell us about your play … and why you wrote it?

Over Share Cabaret is a mix of classic style cabaret where I try to honor musical theater song writing at its best, and contemporary true stories. I was worried I was running out of salacious stories to share with my audiences so I’ve been trying to convince my talented singer friends to jump on board so I don’t have to get myself in trouble monthly for good stories.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

Enough money to buy a Hampton’s House, I swear I’ll stop there and just peace out NYC and sing to the seagulls.  My chosen profession is personal training and I love my clients and helping them reach their goals and enjoy movement and exercise. As far as a performing goes, I would love to have a regular cabaret singing spot, like every Thursday night at The Carlyle for example, where I just sing everyone’s favorite show tunes from 1940-1980 and have a small band behind me. Being specific is the key to getting what you want, right? And along the lines of money, I really only need enough to buy a new glittery dress every week for my Carlyle gig. 🙂

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

I’m also really good at Ms.Pac-Man and Scrabble, can I get paid to do those things? From age 5 to age 23 I believed musical theater was “all I could do”. It isn’t anymore. I MUST do it, to stay sane, but the world is full of lots of wonderful things and life is very long. I like helping people, I like collaborating and giving my energy to people who give back. I could do anything where I got to work with creative and open minded people who don’t take life too seriously.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

Let’s go back to that gig at the Carlyle. I think we should focus on reality.

Last words? 

When I was a young actress the teachers would always say “Make it your own”. I didn’t do that then and I didn’t know what it meant. I give of myself in a very different way now, I understand honesty better. And if I ever stumble on material that I can’t make my own I just don’t bother with it anymore.

MEL DeLANCEY is a full time extrovert who loves to share her “Sex in the City” style true life stories Monday thru Friday with her personal training clients for her company, Joyful Fitness. On top of a life dedicated to fitness and helping others achieve physical strength and confidence, Mel moonlights as a cabaret producer and performer. Mel is best known for her autobiographical cabaret show Tinder Roulette which ran at the 13th Street Repertory throughout the fall of 2015 and received rave reviews. She is the host and creator of The Overshare Cabaret, a new monthly performance party merging the art forms of cabaret, sketch comedy, and personal storytelling. She is a member of the Dysfunctional Theatre Arts Collectiveand will be reviving her original program I Heart Show-tunesthis summer as part of an artist residency on Governor’s Island. For 16 years Mel has been a regular on the Indie Theater scene in downtown Manhattan and Williamsburg, performing most often with Gemini CollisionWorks and Dysfunctional Theatre. From 2004-2009 Mel was responsible for writing, directing, performing, and producing sketch comedy with the 5-member team Slightly Known People. The prolific group hosted a sold-out weekly show at the popular alternative comedy venue, RiFiFi, in the East Village, which ran for more than 150 performances. Mel earned her bachelor’s degree from New York University where she studied musical theater. She also holds a variety of personal training certifications and NYC food handlers permit, in case anyone needs a dishwasher.

Leave a Reply

