Laurie Rae Waugh’s words on being a prolific director

FullSizeRenderLaurie Rae Waugh is a two-fisted director. She has two plays opening tonight and subsequently running in NYC this next few weeks: one at the Midtown International Theater festival (www.midtownfestival.org) and one at the American Theater of Actors (212.581.3044)

13709823_10153529450171567_6828311276130037005_n

We hear a lot about inspiration- or Muse- that drives an artist. What inspires you?

The writing.  I love reading well written plays. There is something in the play that calls to me and not every play I read has it.  It could be the subject matter or a line or two from the play that then gives me a visual and from that I see the whole play.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

I want to be known as a Director who is always working on new quality scripts.  Getting new scripts produced and always working towards taking one of more of those scripts to another level.  ie: movie version of the play or a Broadway or Off Broadway run.  To be recognized for the work that I do not only from the playwright but my peers as well.  Continue to take the level of each and every production up another notch all while making a comfortable living at it.

 

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession…”it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

I love directing with a passion and YES it is all I can do. In the last year, I have directed three full length plays, seven one-act plays and was the lead in another one act play.  I also received the ATA Best Director Award for A Spanish Harlem Story (2015) from American Theatre of Actors.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t do this, what would you do?

If I couldn’t direct, I haven’t asked myself that question.  To be honest, I really don’t know.   Directing is a part of me and I don’t see myself without that in my life.

Last Words?

I started out as a stage manager and did that for many years.  I was given the opportunity to finish directing a project that I started out as the stage manager on and from then on I was hooked.  I always wanted to direct and this opportunity was the one that had me move on from stage managing to directing.  I love working on plays that I connect with.  The best part of my job as the director is hearing from the playwright that I got their intention and that is the best feeling in the world.

 

Leave a Reply

