Bridget Dennin shares some thoughts on SHIELDS OF BLUE @MITF

shield

We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

I like to draw from real life experiences and morph them with current topics I find interesting.

Tell us about why you wrote this. 

I don’t think they’re topics that have been talked about enough in this format. I think it’s very rare a play becomes more relevant as time passes, not less. And over the past year, I hate to say it but this topic just keeps coming up more and more.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

I want to give everyone the chance to tell their side of the story.

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

I think anyone can do anything they set their mind to. But while I’m sure there are other things I could do, this is all I want to do.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

I’m not sure. I honestly can’t imagine my life without theater.

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

I want them to remember me for my ambition and professionalism. And hopefully success.

Last words?

Come see Shields of Blue!

autumn-2016-mitf

Leave a Reply

