Diana Rissetto talks WARMTH and the Holocaust @ MITF

dianaheadshot-1MITF presents WARMTH by Diana Rissetto, directed by Lionel Ruland; starring Diana DiCostanzo, Lev Harvey, Matthew Dean Wood, Stacey Lightman, and Taylor Henkin. Quirky comedy about a young woman who volunteers at an offbeat Holocaust charity. (Comedy-Drama)

Performance Schedule: Wed 10/26, 7:00pm; Thurs 10/27, 6:00pm; Fri 10/28, 7:30pm; Thurs 11/03, 8:30pm

 

We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

New York City! You can’t help but be inspired every single day living here and taking a long walk and observing the city and people watching doesn’t cost a thing. I also have been blessed with hilariously funny friends who are always giving me material.

Tell us about why you wrote this and why it’s important enough to become a film? 

Holocaust movies and plays are constantly being released, and I think it is so important that we keep telling these stories, especially since we are sadly losing these survivors and rescuers. My story takes a different approach, focusing on a young woman who knows we can’t know for sure how we would have acted during the Holocaust, but we are responsible for our actions now.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

When I think about the writers who have inspired me the most—Wendy Wasserstein, Michael Landon, Edward Burns—I would love to know that other people thought of me with such love and respect as I do them. And if I ever get to the point where I am legitimately “NYC theatre famous”, I want to be one of those theatre people who are also known for being nice to everybody.

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

Day job: publicist. I particularly like working with writers. I know what they feel like.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

Probably teach the second grade. I used to teach CCD to second graders and kids are so fun at that age.

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

She made people laugh and she was okay laughing at herself.

Last words?

Thank you for supporting new plays!

autumn-2016-mitf

 

Leave a Reply

