ATALANTA makes a CASE … Actually Case makes one for ATALANTA

atalantaATALANTA by Case Watson, fight choreographer Rocio Mendez, directed by Courtney Self; starring Laurel Andersen, Grace Bernardo, Zelda Gay, Al Patrick Jo, Rocio Mendez, Lynett Vallejo, Blanca Vivancos, and Case Watson. Ovid tells us that Atalanta was the most skillful hunter in all of ancient Greece, until social pressure and a devious plot forced her to accept a husband. By all accounts, her story ends there. But what if this ending were a lie? What if, instead of accepting her fate, she had panicked and fled?  Performance Schedule: Tues 11/01, 7:00pm; Sat 11/05, 5:30pm; Sun 11/06, 4:30pm

Words of Wisdom from Case Watson

We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

Lesser known stories inspire me. There’s a way to make the cliché truth of there being no more original stories work in your favor, and I love the creative challenge of breathing new life into an old, forgotten tale. Discovering the adventures of someone history books have neglected is an extremely rewarding source of inspiration.

Tell us about why you wrote this. 

I’ve wondered to myself whether Atalanta would make a good film. I wrote the story as a play because I love the way theater demands the coexistence of 2 worlds. But I would love to see such a women-centric story made exponentially accessible through film, especially now that there is such demand and need for complex women in movies.

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

The ultimate goal is to make a living at what I do while making the work I love. At this point, I’d rather be a face you can’t quite place. God knows what I’d do or say if I were famous. I have to censor myself enough just for a written interview.

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

I think there are many things I could do, and I think to suggest otherwise would be a romanticization and a limitation. I don’t believe in putting a limit on one’s potential, but that is a large part of why I love my chosen profession. I can be an actor who goes on to write and produce, and from there moves on to direct and design. I can even do something unrelated to the arts and use it as inspiration later. Unlike other professions I might have chosen, though, the arts afford me the opportunity for an unending exploration of myself and my place in the world around me. I love that with the life I’ve chosen, I’ll never be done uncovering new leaves of my potential.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

Travel. And then do it anyway.

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

I’d love to be remembered for reminding people of those history has chosen to forget. I’d love to leave a legacy of having helped give complexity back to women who have been historically oversimplified. I still have a lot more I’d like to say, and so do they.

Last words? 

Not if I can help it.

autumn-2016-mitf

Leave a Reply

