Before the show but after life with Olivia Reevell

One Life at a Time by Olivia Reevell, directed by Olivia Reevell; starring Gabrielle Adkins, Colin York, Tom O’Boyle, and featuring Arlo and Jules Bernstein. What happens after death? Where do we go? Do we simply return to the earth that made us? Or maybe there is something bigger than that, something that keeps us driving forward in life.

We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

People inspire me. Living in New York there is an endless supply of people to watch, which means an endless supply of inspiration. People say that you should write what you know, so I also draw inspiration from my life and experiences of being British living in New York. 

Tell us about why you wrote this and why it’s important enough to become a film? 

I think the visual aspects of this play are extremely interesting, and because of its unique nature it would have its own life as a film. I think this play is important because it explores people’s beliefs, beliefs on how the world keeps spinning. It is all about human connection and finding that the only way to move on is through human contact. 

In also directing this play, I found that because it is something that is so other worldly, I wanted to let my actors really be heard and let the words do the work. All of the staging, lighting, and sound are all very simple allowing the actors to really shine on stage. 

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

Honestly, it drives me to make people think, make them have a conversation about themselves and the choices they’ve made in their lives. Money and fame are always something that people want in life. However, I would be ecstatic to simply make a living off of my plays. 

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

Yes. This is all I can do. I am so incredibly happy to have finally found what I can do with my life. I started as an actor and now looking back I can safely say that writing is the thing that makes my soul sing, it is all I think about, it is everything that makes me human.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

If I couldn’t write, I wouldn’t be anything. This is exactly where I am meant to be. This is exactly what I am meant to be. 

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

I want history to remember me as someone who managed to change the way we saw the world. I feel like this might be a large goal, but if I can influence even two people to just start a conversation that they never thought to have, then I would have done my job.

Last words? 

I am incredibly grateful to be apart of this festival! It’s exciting that I’ve produced something that I am truly proud of, and I think people will really enjoy watching. 

autumn-2016-mitf

Leave a Reply

