teatro eccellente @ MITF

ciaoCIAO BAMBINO Music, lyrics and book by Elizabeth Turner, directed by Eizabeth Turner. Piano and Musical Arrangements by Andreas Häberlin; starring Tia Andriani, Ari Axelrod, Moriel Behar, Ashley Brooke,Gianmarco Colucci, Morgan Daniels, Anna DeBlasio, Lisa Franklin, Andrea Galata, Taylor Johnson, Bob Long, Trevor Nalepka, Liz Pegg, Juliana Phillipi, Elizabeth Turner, Kasey Yeargain, Mijon Zulu. An Italian-American musical filled with love, passion, and laughter that the entire family can enjoy. (Musical)

Performance Schedule: Fri 11/11, 3-5:00pm

We chatted with Elizabeth Turner about her new musical…

We hear a lot about inspiration – or Muse – that drives an artist. What inspires you?

For me personally, I think both come hand in hand. Personal experiences from the past, and from aspirations and dreams of the future is what drives me in my writing and story telling. However, many of the characters and music I have written have come from several different, and eccentric muses.

Tell us about why you wrote this.

As a performer going on auditions, I was always told “Great voice, but we’re looking for 6 ft tall, blonde dancers”. I wanted to create a piece, in which showcases my strengths as a writer, and performer. To create my own opportunities, and for other actors/musicians that are in the same boat as I am in. In 2016, there are few musicals that address the culture, and heritage of Italian-Americans and that embrace the style of language and music. I wanted to create a new work of art that addresses all of this, that myself, and fellow actors and musicians can portray accurately. In 2016, there are few musicals that address the culture, and heritage of Italian-Americans and that embrace the style of language and music. I wanted to create a new work of art that addresses all of this, that myself, and fellow actors and musicians can portray accurately. I think this story and music would work very well on screen.

What is your vision and process for the play/part

Elizabetta, the main role that I will also play is a young woman from Italy, that moves to Nyc in 1965. She deals with social, cultural and language barriers of being an Italian woman in Nyc in 1965. Having a passion for music, romance and adventure she is optimistic, and faithful while going through challenges. To portray this character accurately, a lot of research was conducted of the 1960’s, and Italian-American culture in Nyc to really nail down the part.

 

What do you want most in your chosen profession? It’s OK to say “fame” or “wealth.”

For audiences across the globe to hear and see my storytelling and music!

Sally Field and Paul Newman both said of their profession… “it’s all I can do.” Is this all you can do?

I would agree! I eat, sleep, and breathe acting/music and writing. Nursing school or Insurance doesn’t look bright in my future.

Along those lines, if you couldn’t so this, what would you do?

I try and be diverse with my strengths in this business, not only as a performer, but also a writer, producer, director, choreographer and composer. At any given moment in my career, I may pick up one of these hats! So, I try and stay well-rounded within the industry. However, if Entertainment could not be an option, I would secretly love to work for the FBI!

How do you want [legit] history to remember you?

As a passionate, romantic, adventurous, creative young woman and story teller.

Last words? 

La Vita Bella!

autumn-2016-mitf

Leave a Reply

